Business / Serving Others

To Care or Not to Care?

Good business requires caringcaring more for your customer than for your company or yourself!

I’m quite sure there’s a lack of caring in the fast food industry these days.  It seems as though maybe they don’t feel like they’re getting paid enough to care.  And to that, I say: If you’re getting a paycheck, you’re being paid to care…whether you think it’s enough or not is beside the point.

Now, let me also be the first to come to their defense, since I used to work for two different fast food restaurants and am well aware that there are plenty of caring folks that work for the fast-paced food market.  However, the following event really happened last night in the drive-thru of the Taco Bell at 850 W. Central Ave in Springboro, OH.  You be the judge…

  • WIFE: “Do you have root beer?”
  • EMPLOYEE: “No, we have Wild Cherry Pepsi.”
  • WIFE looks at me quizzically, wondering if she was misunderstood, and repeats: “Do you have root beer?”
  • EMPLOYEE: “No, we have Wild Cherry Pepsi.”
  • WIFE looks at me again and asks: “Why’s she telling me that?”
  • ME: “hahahahaha” (I can’t even answer, because I’m too busy laughing hysterically!  I’ve had both Root Beer and Wild Cherry Pepsi, and they don’t even come close to occupying the same taste space…AND, it’s a “Yes” or “No” question.)

PLUS

  • Out of the 6 meals we ordered, two burritos were made incorrectly…and 1 drink.
  • Oh, yeah…almost forgot…they gave us an extra drink, too.

Think outside the bun, indeed.  At this point, I’d settle for just plain thinking…period.  Giving thought to someone or something is proof that you are caring beyond yourself.

SIMPLY STATED:

  • When you care for the customer by being attentive to his basic expectations, you succeed at pleasing said customer at the base level.  When you don’t, you fail at the highest level.
  • If orders are being sent out improperly made, it’s “too fast food”.  Slow down, and make it right.  Your company’s reputation is on the line with Every. Single. Order!  It’s that important to represent well!

YOUR THOUGHTS:

  • Are you expecting too much in wanting your food to arrive exactly as you ordered it?  You tell me.

[To leave a comment, click HERE.]

One thought on “To Care or Not to Care?

Leave a comment